Zoning Board of Review/Appeals

The Zoning Board consists of 5 standard members and 3 alternate members, all of whom are appointed by the Town Council to a 5-year term. The Zoning Board meets on the third Thursday of every month.

Secretary of State - Agendas, Minutes

Zoning Board of Review/Appeals (Gillibrand x326)

Town Hall - Council Chamber, 7:00 pm

2022 SCHEDULE

Thursday, January 20 (to be held via Zoom)

Thursday, February 17 - CANCELED

Thursday, March 17 (to be held via Zoom) - CANCELED DUE TO TECHNICAL ERROR

Thursday, April 14 (Special Meeting)

Thursday, April 21

Thursday, May 19

Thursday, June 9 (Special Meeting)

Thursday, June 16

Thursday, July 21

Thursday, August 18

Thursday, September 15

Thursday, October 20

Thursday, November 17

Thursday, December 15

ZONING BOARD APPLICATIONS ARE DUE THE DATE OF THE MEETING THE PRIOR MONTH (EX. FEBRUARY APPLICATIONS ARE DUE THE DATE OF THE JANUARY MEETING)

 

state seal.png
Responsibilities

The Zoning Board of Review hears and makes decisions on the following matters:

  • Requests for relief from dimensional requirements relating to lot area, frontage, building coverage, setback and building height, including nonconforming structures

  • Applications for special use permits

  • Relief from the merger requirements for substandard lots of record

  • Other matters as directed by the Town Council

  • Appeals of a decision of the Building/Zoning Official 

 

Additionally, the Zoning Board of Review will sit as the Zoning Board of appeals to hear an appeal of a decision of the Planning Board. 

 

Email Contact: dbegin@barrington.ri.gov

Clerk to the Zoning Board: igillibrand@barrington.ri.gov

Members
  • Douglas Caito

  • Thomas Kraig, Chair

  • Ladd J. Meyer

  • Cara Pomeranz, 3rd Alternate

  • Karen Pringle, 1st Alternate

  • David Rizzolo

  • Michelle Turgeon

  • Clark Wescott, 2nd Alternate

  • Robert Humm, Council Liaison

  • Dennis Begin, Zoning Officer

  • Isabelle Gillibrand, Board Clerk